Pretty Guardian

I’m currently watching the original Japanese Sailor Moon cartoon. I might be a bit too old for it, but the show came to mind recently so I decided to check it out. I watched the english dubbed version as a kid, but this one is a little different than what I remember.

Anyway, I’m glad I started watching it as an adult because I’m understanding the story better now than I did back then. Here’s a summary of the show and more about the main character Usagi Tsukino in case you have no idea I’m talking about.

Aside from the show just being totally adorable visually, I like that Usagi is a far from perfect yet the universe still chose her to be a hero. She’s a klutz and a little self-centered, but she pulls through in the end to triumph over evil – usually with the help of Luna the cat, her love interest Tuxedo Mask, and her sailor guardian friends.

I also enjoy the character traits of the other sailors. So far, only Sailor Mercury and Sailor Mars have been introduced (I’m on season 1, episode 14 at the moment) but it’s cool how each guardian represents a planet and has a corresponding power and personality.

Plus, it’s pretty much a funny, magical, witchy, astrological girl-power cartoon. Totally up my alley 😉

The show got me thinking about myself when I was Usagi’s age. I was such a little chump at fourteen. I lived in my own world, clueless about anyone else’s struggles – writing notes to my friends during class, crushing hard, trying to fit in but stand out at the same time.

I’ve become more self-aware since then, but I still have some of the same traits I did in middle school: Frizzy hair, acne prone skin, gawky, bashful and easily distracted. Sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever feel entirely secure with myself as an adult. Will I never outgrow the growing pains?

Sailor Moon is encouraging though. Usagi admits she is clumsy, afraid and unsure of her purpose, but she has confidence that everything will work out fine. She was chosen for a reason.

I feel like the universe has a hidden message for me too, I’m just having trouble unlocking it. Maybe I just need a pretty guardian to be my guide.

Or maybe there’s a pretty guardian within ❤

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started