Brighter

Did you not know you were brighter than the other kids?

A shooting star in the dim lit town we grew up in.

I saw the shimmer, I saw the light,

I saw the twinkle in troubled eyes.

Truer than blue, bluer than sky,

If I look up now I might wonder why

I looked away in the first place.

Learned more from you than those humdrum teachers,

Then grew away from you – new found high underneath the bleachers.

I heard the whisper, I heard the hush,

I heard the laughter from the front of the bus.

Cooler than blue, bluer than ice

Was the chill of that head sung goodbye,

And I covered my ears so you would slip my mind.

But these old memories never pan out quite the same.

Perpetually rising and falling,

Spinning around or all into place.

I’m sorry, I should have never let yours fade.

I felt the rhythm, I felt the beat,

I felt the rush of chasing peace.

Truer than blue, bluer than sky,

Even brighter still after all this time,

Why I looked away in the first place.

I wish you had known you were brighter than the other kids.

A shooting star burnt out over that town we grew up in.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started